Μαρκος, Ριξε Τσιγγανα Τα Χαρτια

Markos Vamvakaris, 1938, “Throw the Cards, Gypsy”

Ρίξε Τσιγγάνα τα χαρτιά
και πες μου την αλήθεια
θα γειάνει τάχα ο καημός
που έχω μες στα στήθια;

Πες μου ο πόνος της καρδιάς
θα γιατρευτεί λιγάκι
ή θα χαθούν τα νιάτα μου
απ’ το πολύ φαρμάκι;

Πες μου Τσιγγάνα και φλουριά
εγώ θα σε γεμίσω
την κόρη που μ’ αρνήθηκε
θα την ξαναποκτήσω;

Throw the cards, gypsy, and tell me the truth,
will this pain in me ever be cured?

Tell me, the pain in my heart, will it get a little better
or will my youth be destroyed by this poison?

Tell me, gypsy, and I’ll load you up with coin,
will I get the girl back who turned me down?

 

The original:

 

Learn it:

This entry was posted in Music, Rebetika. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

